

## City of Milwaukee

## **Department Details**

Department name: BUSINESS IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT BOARD #4 (MITCHELL STREET BUSINESS STRIP)

Type: Board or Commission

Meeting time:

Meeting location:

Primary contact:

Description:

**PURPOSE:** Section 66.1109, Wis. Stats., allows cities to create one or more business improvement districts to develop, manage and promote the district. They are further permitted to establish an assessment method to fund the activities to be undertaken by the district. All of the foregoing are described in an annual operating plan which is prepared by the district board and approved by the Common Council. The operating plan also describes the amount of the special assessment to be levied against each property in the district.

District No. 4 encompasses the Mitchell Street Business strip centered on W. Mitchell St. at S. 9th St.

**COMPOSITION:** Fifteen members. A majority must own or occupy real property in the district. Members are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Common Council. Terms are 3 years, staggered.

A member continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

**CREATING AUTHORITY:** Section 66.1109, Wis. Stats., and Common Council Files 890176 and 960578 Amended by CCFN 110863 and 130591 with operating plans attached.

**SALARY:** None

**STAFFING:** Ken Little, Commercial Corridor Manager, Kenneth.little@milwaukee.gov, 414-286-5617; Nancy Bush, Greater Mitchell Street Association, 383-6601

**LAST UPDATED:** January 6, 2021

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
VACANCY Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	4/19/2016	4/20/2020	*
VACANCY Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	4/19/2019	4/20/2020	*
Amrit Patel Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	4/21/2022	4/21/2025	*
Brian McManus	Member Member	2/1/2022	2/1/2025	*

Appointed By: Mayor Tom E	Barrett			
Dan Didier	Member	7/29/2022	7/29/2025	*
Appointed By: Mayor Cavali	er Johnson			
Demetra Copoulos	Member	2/29/2024	2/28/2027	*
Appointed By: Mayor Cavali	er Johnson			
Gloria Marquez	Member	2/17/2020	2/17/2023	*
Appointed By: Mayor Tom E	Barrett			
Jennifer Lamb	Member	7/27/2021	7/27/2024	*
Appointed By: Mayor Tom E	Barrett			
John Dye	Member	7/19/2021	7/19/2024	*
Appointed By: Mayor Tom E	Barrett			
Jose Moreno	Member	1/25/2023	1/25/2026	*
Appointed By: Mayor Cavali	er Johnson			
Joseph Arnezeder	Member	4/17/2024	4/17/2027	*
Appointed By: Mayor Cavali	er Johnson			
Russell Rossetto	Member	1/23/2023	1/23/2026	*
Shane McAdams	Member	5/3/2022	5/3/2025	*
Appointed By: Mayor Tom E	Barrett			

<sup>\*</sup> indicates extended term